#amwriting: worldbuilding: a framework to hang a story on

Awesome post! Must share! Very well done!

Life in the Realm of Fantasy

I write in many different worlds with widely varying levels of technology and forms of government, some set in fantasy worlds and some set in contemporary real-world environments. When I first began writing I had been reading and studying the works of Ursula K. Le Guin, Anne McCaffrey, and the many other pioneering sci-fi and fantasy writers of the 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s.

This was long before eBooks, and I had discovered the joys of the secondhand book store. Every payday I had several new books to add to my collection. In fact, it became hard to find people to help me move whenever my work took me to a different place, because of my large collection of secondhand books.

Many times the actual details of the society and the infrastructure didn’t matter and didn’t come into their stories at all. But the authors knew them, and their visualization…

View original post 1,167 more words

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “#amwriting: worldbuilding: a framework to hang a story on

  1. Thank you for the reblog ♥

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

