Toei Kyoto Studio Park (Kyoto Day Three)

Had to share this wonderful post. Someday I’ll get back to the place I was born, and you can bet that when I do, I’ll be making a trip to Toei Studio! I grew up on Kamen Rider, and Kikaida, and Gojira! To see the studio in person would be awesome! Thanks for the tour, Lillian!

Hopes and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons

by Lillian Csernica on November 29, 2015

2015-10-24 19.06.40.jpg Toei Studios is behind quite a diverse selection of entertainment, including Battle Royale, Kamen Rider, and Super Sentai, the origin of the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers.  In the 1950s, samurai movies were hugely popular, as proven by Akira Kurosawa’s Rashomon, Seven Samurai,  and Yojimbo, just to name a few.

2015-10-24 19.21.48.jpg

I love lion dogs (aka fu dogs or shishi), so I was delighted to encounter this enormous guardian on the way into the park.

2015-10-24 19.33.01.jpg

Actors from one of the live stage shows.  At last I’ve learned the secrets of how they anchor those samurai wigs in place.  Aren’t the kimono gorgeous?

Naomi.jpg

This charming lady is Naomi Oishi, an actress in one of the samurai television dramas.  Pat and I had a wonderful time talking to her.

Oiran

The main reason we went to Toei Studios was to…

View original post 483 more words

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Toei Kyoto Studio Park (Kyoto Day Three)

  1. Thank you, Dover! How nice of you to reblog this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

