Adapt or Die: How to Earn Money at Comic Conventions

Excellent post on sales at conventions. I learned a lot from this that I’ll be using at Clockwork Alchemy next year. Wow!!! Must share!

Pop Culture Uncovered

by Fenny Lin

Last week, Denise Dorman wrote a blog post, “The Hidden TRUTH About Comic Book Convention Earnings: For Creators, Have Comic Book Conventions JUMPED THE SHARK?” that got cosplayers and con-goers fired up. Since the post came out, there has been a lot of discussions on various boards and FB pages, rebuttals, and voices of support. Because this is a subject that’s near and dear to my heart, I have to jump into the fray and add my two cents as well.

To start off, some background on me: I’ve been a vendor at various east coast cons (usually in Artist Alley, but a few times on the main exhibitor’s hall) with my BFF for the past 4 years. Prior to that, I’ve cosplayed for about 6 years, and I’ve been an generally nerdy attendee for the last 20 years. Basically, I’ve seen the shift that Dorman talks…

View original post 2,791 more words

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

